×

Carries War Puffin Modern Classics

Nina Bawden
Rs. 210 Rs. 350
Views: 44 Views

It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life... Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years. Nina Bawden - without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph ***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.*** Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 8

Book Detail

  • Publisher
  • Puffin UK
  • Publication Date
  • 26/08/2014
  • Number of Pages
  • 208
  • Binding
  • Paper Back
  • ISBN
  • 9780141354903
  • Category
  • Fiction , Classics

Price Offers From Different Stores

Store Price Order
Liberty Stores
Rs. 210 Rs. 350 Add to Cart

Book Reviews

No review posted by any user for this Carries War Puffin Modern Classics. Be the first rate this Book

Book Categories

Provide some info about the book you need. Our team will find it and contact you back.

X

Sign in

to continue to ilmkidunya.com

X

Sign in

to continue to ilmkidunya.com

X

Forgot Password

to continue to ilmkidunya.com

X

Register Type

Please Provide following information to Register

  • Student
  • Tutor
  • Consultant
  • Employer