In the fee schedules checked for this page, BS Islamic Studies costs about Rs 13,000 to Rs 36,000 per semester on morning seats and Rs 25,000 to Rs 90,000 on evening and self-finance seats. Private universities can charge more: Hamdard University in Karachi lists Rs 131,500 for the first semester. The degree runs eight semesters over four years. For the public-sector examples below, four-year totals range from about Rs 71,000 to about Rs 370,000, before hostel costs.
| Institute | Program Name | Duration | Fee Structure |
|---|---|---|---|
| Green International University | BS Islamic Studies | 4 |
|
| Gift University Gujranwala | BS Islamic Studies |
|
|
| Riphah International University Islamabad | BS Islamic Studies | 4 |
|
| University of Wah | BS Islamic Studies (S5) | 2 |
|
| University Of Education Bank Road Lahore | BS Islamic Studies | 4 |
|
| Ghazi University Dera Ghazi Khan | BS Islamic Studies | 4 |
|
| Women University Mardan KPK | BS Islamic Studies |
|
|
| Allama Iqbal Open University AIOU Islamabad | BS Islamic Studies Dars-E-Nizami |
|
|
| Allama Iqbal Open University AIOU Islamabad | BS Islamic Studies Interfaith Studies |
|
|
| Allama Iqbal Open University AIOU Islamabad | BS Islamic Studies Dars-E-Nizami |
|
|
Seat type |
Published fee per semester (schedules checked) |
Examples |
|---|---|---|
|
Morning or regular |
Rs 13,000–36,000 |
Murray College Rs 13,325; Punjab University Rs 21,000 plus dues; IIUI Rs 31,700. AIOU (distance learning) charges Rs 17,900 for the first semester |
|
Evening, afternoon or self-finance |
Rs 25,000–90,000 |
Murray College evening Rs 25,800; Ghazi University Rs 36,250; Punjab University self-supporting Rs 47,300 plus dues; LCWU Rs 89,060 |
|
Private university |
Higher; one verified example |
Hamdard University Rs 131,500 (first semester, 2026-27) |
Morning seats are subsidised and usually need higher merit. Evening and self-finance seats cost more and usually have lower merit cut-offs. The degree is the same.
The table below shows 12 universities, with the basis of each figure stated. "First semester" figures include one-time charges and cannot be compared directly with per-semester figures.
|
University |
Seat or track |
Fee (Rs) |
What the figure covers |
Source and year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
BS Usuluddin (Islamic Studies) |
31,700 per semester + 16,500 one-time |
One-time charges include admission, lab development and a Rs 7,000 refundable library deposit. First-semester total: Rs 48,200 |
IIUI official schedule, FY 2026-27 (from Fall 2026) |
|
|
Morning |
21,000 + dues |
Semester "A" fee. Dues are about Rs 14,250 in fall and Rs 13,300 in spring |
ilmkidunya BS fee page citing PU's 2026-27 dues schedule |
|
|
University of the Punjab |
Self-supporting |
47,300 + dues |
Same dues apply on top |
Same source |
|
Self-supporting |
89,060 per semester |
The same amount is listed for all eight semesters |
LCWU Fall 2026 self-supporting fee PDF |
|
|
Morning, 2025 intake |
31,800 in semester 1, then 27,900 to 44,026 |
Semester-wise schedule that rises from semester 3 |
University of Layyah, session 2025 |
|
|
University of Layyah |
Afternoon, 2025 intake |
39,800 in semester 1, then 36,700 to 59,615 |
Semester-wise schedule |
Same source |
|
Morning / self-support |
30,775 / 40,950 |
First-semester fee |
ilmkidunya university page; year not stated |
|
|
Morning / evening |
22,100 / 36,250 |
First-semester fee |
ilmkidunya university page |
|
|
Morning / evening |
25,150 / 33,150 |
First-semester total |
ilmkidunya university page, 2026 |
|
|
BS Islamic Studies General (distance learning) |
17,900 |
First semester |
AIOU fee tariff, Spring 2026 |
|
|
Morning |
23,720 per semester |
Listed "first-time charges" of Rs 37,720; ask whether this includes the semester fee |
NUML Multan programme page |
|
|
BS |
18,500 / 6,000 / 8,650 |
Semester 1 / semesters 2–4 / semesters 5–8 |
ilmkidunya college page, 2026 |
|
|
Hamdard University, Karachi (private) |
BS Islamic Studies |
131,500 |
First semester: admission 22,000 + tuition 90,000 + examination and other charges 19,500 |
Hamdard official page, 2026-27 |
|
Morning / evening |
13,325 / 25,800 |
Per semester |
Murray College official page; year not stated |
Eduvision also lists the University of Karachi at Rs 12,500 and NUML Karachi at Rs 48,610 for recent admissions, but does not say what those figures cover, so they are not in the table.
These figures come from this page's earlier version and each university's ilmkidunya fee page. I could not confirm them against an official schedule. Some may be first-semester amounts rather than per-semester amounts.
|
University |
Fee as listed (Rs) |
Note |
|---|---|---|
|
30,600 per semester |
Private university; confirm whether the fee rises each semester |
|
|
Government College University, Lahore |
44,180 |
The earlier total suggests this is a first-semester fee, with lower fees afterwards |
|
University of Gujrat |
43,770 per semester |
Eduvision lists Rs 38,500 for the current cycle |
|
37,520 per semester |
Private university |
|
|
Abdul Wali Khan University, Mardan |
Morning 27,980; evening 41,960 |
Per semester |
|
Shah Abdul Latif University, Khairpur |
Morning 15,500; self-finance 25,750 |
Per semester |
|
Fatima Jinnah Women University, Rawalpindi |
28,628 per semester |
ilmkidunya's BS fee page lists about Rs 52,000 for most BS programmes, so confirm |
|
Superior University |
74,800 per semester |
Private university |
|
Lahore Leads University |
70,000 per semester |
Private university |
|
31,250 per semester |
Private university |
|
|
Morning 25,350; evening 37,059 |
First semester |
|
|
69,000 total |
Two-year programme for students entering at semester 5 |
Four different numbers appear on fee pages, and mixing them is the most common mistake.
Per-semester fee: what you pay each semester for tuition and regular charges.
First-semester total: the semester fee plus one-time charges such as admission, registration, development fund and a library deposit. At IIUI the one-time charges are Rs 16,500, of which Rs 7,000 is a refundable deposit.
Programme total: the full four-year cost. Check whether it adds up to eight semesters, because fees at some universities rise or fall by semester.
Per credit hour: some private universities charge this way. Multiply the rate by the credit hours you register for. BS Islamic Studies is typically about 130 credit hours over eight semesters.
Fees change. IIUI's schedule is dated for the 2026-27 year. In January 2024, the Islamia University of Bahawalpur's Syndicate approved a 25% cut in BS fees, so changes can go down as well as up.
Add the eight semester fees, add one-time charges, then subtract deposits that are refunded. Hostel and transport are extra.
IIUI (public): 8 × Rs 31,700 = Rs 253,600. Add Rs 16,500 one-time charges = Rs 270,100. Subtract the Rs 7,000 refundable deposit = about Rs 263,100, if fees stay at the 2026-27 level.
University of Layyah (public), morning, 2025 intake: the eight listed semester fees add up to Rs 279,083. The afternoon schedule adds up to Rs 370,569. The university notes that fees are subject to change.
Islamabad College for Girls, 2026 listing: Rs 18,500 + 3 × Rs 6,000 + 4 × Rs 8,650 = Rs 71,100.
These are estimates from published schedules, not quotes. Ask the admissions office for the full fee schedule for your intake year.
Allama Iqbal Open University (AIOU) teaches BS Islamic Studies by distance learning. Its Spring 2026 fee tariff lists Rs 17,900 for the first semester of BS Islamic Studies General. Eduvision shows a similar figure (Rs 17,650) for the current admission cycle.
AIOU offers several tracks, including Quran and Tafseer, Hadith and Hadith Science, Seerat Studies, Dars-e-Nizami, Interfaith Studies and Islamic Law and Jurisprudence. Entry routes include FA/FSc (12 years of education), BA/BSc and an Associate Degree in Islamic Studies. The fee depends on the track and entry route: the Spring 2025 tariff listed Rs 16,650 for HSSC-based entry and Rs 19,200 for BA/BSc-based entry. AIOU fees depend on the courses you register for each semester, so check the tariff for your track. The AIOU fee page on ilmkidunya lists other AIOU programmes.
Hostel: IIUI charges Rs 6,300 per month at BS level, plus a Rs 7,000 refundable hostel deposit. Other universities set their own rates.
One-time charges: admission, registration, development fund and library deposit. For a regular seat at Punjab University, ilmkidunya's BS fee page gives Rs 9,000 registration (if you are not already registered), Rs 500 development fund and Rs 5,000 refundable library security.
Dues on top of the fee: Punjab University adds dues of about Rs 14,250 in fall and Rs 13,300 in spring to the semester fee.
Books, transport and exams: usually not in the published fee. Ask your department.
For a cross-programme view of how Pakistani universities charge, see ilmkidunya's BS fee structure guide.
HEC Need-Based Scholarship. It covers tuition and, for selected students, a Rs 6,000 monthly stipend. You must be admitted on open merit and show financial need. Students admitted on a self-finance basis are not eligible. Apply through your university's financial aid office; HEC does not take applications directly from students.
Ehsaas / Benazir Undergraduate Scholarship. A need-based programme for low-income students, reported by Eduvision as renamed from Ehsaas. Check ehsaas.hec.gov.pk for the current application window.
Other need-based aid. LCWU's financial aid page lists Pakistan Bait-ul-Mal and MORA scholarships for BS students. Ask your university which are open.
Payment options. When IUB announced its 25% fee cut in January 2024, it also mentioned a facility for students who cannot pay the full fee at once. Ask IUB, or your own university, what that covers.
Choose the seat type with care. A morning seat costs less than an evening or self-finance seat, and self-finance admission rules out HEC need-based aid.
Most universities ask for FA/FSc or an equivalent HSSC result. The universities I checked ask for at least 45% marks (University of Layyah, University of Peshawar's Shaikh Zayed Islamic Centre), or a second division (University of Wah). Some departments add an interview or a Quran recitation test. Students with 14 years of education can enter at semester 5 at some universities, such as the University of Gujrat and the University of Wah.
For dates and notices, see ilmkidunya's BS Islamic Studies admissions page, the list of universities offering BS Islamic Studies and the latest merit lists. City pages cover admission notices in Lahore, Islamabad, Karachi, Multan and Faisalabad. To see what you will study, read the BS Islamic Studies syllabus.
That depends on what you plan to do next. The careers page lists paths such as Arabic teacher, lecturer, translator, Quran tutor, editor and librarian, and says government posts are advertised through the year. A lower-cost morning seat or an AIOU seat reduces the amount you need to recover. If you are comparing related programmes, see the fee pages for BS Arabic, BS Urdu and BS Pakistan Studies.
In the schedules checked, morning seats run about Rs 13,000 to Rs 36,000 per semester, and evening or self-finance seats run Rs 25,000 to Rs 90,000. Private universities can charge more. Hamdard University lists Rs 131,500 for the first semester. See the university table above for each figure and its basis.
Among the sources I checked, the lowest published figures were Murray College, Sialkot (Rs 13,325 per semester, morning), AIOU (Rs 17,900 for the first semester) and Islamabad College for Girls (Rs 18,500 in semester 1, then Rs 6,000). This is not a full ranking, because many universities do not publish a clear figure. Eduvision also lists the University of Karachi at Rs 12,500, without saying what that figure covers.
It depends on the university. Many schedules show a per-semester fee, some show a first-semester total, and a few show a programme total. Check the label before you compare. Multiply a per-semester fee by eight for a rough total.
Morning seats are subsidised and need higher merit. Evening and self-finance seats are not subsidised in the same way, so they cost more and usually have lower merit cut-offs.
Often, yes. The first payment can include admission, registration, development and deposit charges. At IIUI the first-semester total is Rs 48,200 against a semester fee of Rs 31,700.
Some universities allow it. IUB mentioned a payment facility when it cut BS fees in 2024. I did not find a general rule, so ask your university's admissions or accounts office.
The HEC Need-Based Scholarship and the Ehsaas/Benazir Undergraduate Scholarship are open to undergraduate students in general, not to one subject. Eligibility depends on need, how you were admitted and whether your university takes part. Self-finance admissions are excluded from the HEC need-based programme.