DND eligibility criteria: you need FSc Pre-Medical (or A-levels with Biology and Chemistry) with at least 50% marks at most universities. Some ask for more: the University of Home Economics Lahore requires 60%. Age limits apply at some universities (UVAS allows up to 25, UHE up to 24). Pre-Engineering is accepted at UVAS (with a Biology audit course) and NUMS. Tests vary: NUMS uses a test, Riphah uses an interview, UVAS decides on merit.
There is no single national rule for Doctor of Nutrition & Dietetics (DND) or the 4-year BS Human Nutrition & Dietetics. Each university sets its own, and the differences matter: a 55% Pre-Medical student qualifies at one campus and not at another. Check your target university before you apply.
Minimum marks: 50% is the most common threshold; 60% at some.
Background: FSc Pre-Medical, or A-levels with Biology and Chemistry.
Age: up to 24 or 25 at universities that set a limit.
Selection: merit, test or interview, depending on the university.
|
University |
Minimum marks |
Accepted background |
Age limit |
Selection |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
UVAS, Lahore (criteria) |
50% |
FSc Pre-Medical or equivalent; Pre-Engineering with Basic Biology audit course |
25 on last date to apply |
Merit: 70% Intermediate Part-I (or A1/AS or DAE), 30% Matric/O-level |
|
NUMS, Islamabad/Rawalpindi (notice) |
50% |
FSc/A-level (Pre-Medical, or Humanities with Biology and Chemistry), Pre-Agriculture, Pre-Engineering, or DAE Food Technology |
Not stated in notice |
NUMS MDCAT 2025, NAT or USAT, or NUMS online test |
|
Riphah (programme page) |
50% |
FSc Pre-Medical or equivalent |
Not stated |
60% qualification, 40% interview |
|
University of Home Economics, Lahore (programme page) |
60% |
Pre-Medical, A-level Biology and Chemistry, or FA Home Economics |
24 |
See prospectus |
|
MNS University of Agriculture, Multan |
50% |
See notice |
See notice |
Merit list, session 2026–30 |
UOL, UMT, TUF, Superior and the Allied Institute of Medical Sciences have been listed at 45–50% with entry tests or interviews at some. Confirm each in the current prospectus before relying on it.
FSc Pre-Medical
This is the standard route. At 50% or above you meet the minimum at most universities. Marks decide merit, so apply to several.
FSc Pre-Engineering
Not automatically excluded. UVAS admits Pre-Engineering students but requires them to take Basic Biology as a non-credit audit course in the first semester. NUMS lists Pre-Engineering as eligible. Many other universities require Pre-Medical, so check first.
A-levels or O-levels
You need an IBCC equivalence certificate. At UVAS, equivalence results must meet the programme's minimum, or admission is cancelled and the fee is not refunded.
Result awaiting (Part-II)
UVAS allows applications if you passed all Part-I subjects, with provisional admission. You must pass Part-II and meet the minimum, or the admission is cancelled and the fee is not refunded.
FA Home Economics or DAE
UHE accepts FA Home Economics. UVAS counts DAE in its merit formula, and NUMS accepts DAE Food Technology.
Over the age limit
Check before you pay any fee. UVAS stops at 25 on the last application date, and UHE at 24.
Hafiz-e-Quran
UVAS awards 20 extra marks after a test.
Usually not. NUMS accepts NUMS MDCAT 2025, NAT or USAT scores as one route, or its own online test. Other universities use an interview or merit alone.
Matric and Intermediate result cards, CNIC or B-Form, photographs, and an IBCC equivalence certificate for O/A-level candidates. Some universities also ask for domicile or a character certificate. Follow the prospectus.
Confirm the degree name and duration (5-year DND or 4-year BS HND).
Check the age limit against the last application date.
Check the minimum marks for your stream.
Get your IBCC certificate early if you have foreign qualifications.
Check current admissions and fees.
FSc Pre-Medical (or A-levels with Biology and Chemistry) with at least 50% is the usual minimum. Some universities require 60%.
At some universities, yes. UVAS admits them with a Basic Biology audit course, and NUMS lists Pre-Engineering as eligible. Others require Pre-Medical.
Not at most universities. NUMS accepts MDCAT, NAT or USAT scores, or its own test.
It varies. UVAS allows up to 25 on the last application date, and UHE allows up to 24. Some universities have no stated limit.
Yes, with an IBCC equivalence certificate that meets the university's minimum.