Only one BS Space Science fee schedule could be verified in detail: the Institute of Space Technology (IST), Islamabad, at PKR 133,289 per semester for local students, plus a one-time admission fee of PKR 35,000. For the University of the Punjab and the University of Karachi no official programme-level schedule turned up, so the figures below are directory listings and should be treated as pointers, not quotes.
|
University |
Latest figure I found |
Source |
Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
|
IST, Islamabad |
PKR 133,289 per semester (local); PKR 35,000 admission fee, one time |
IST fee page excerpt; matches a 2026 admission guide |
High, but confirm the year |
|
University of the Punjab, Lahore |
PKR 38,950 |
Eduvision directory (period not stated) |
Low |
|
University of Karachi |
PKR 47,500 |
Eduvision directory (period not stated) |
Low |
For IST, Eduvision's figure matches IST's per-semester total, so the PU and KU numbers may be per-semester too. Eduvision does not label them, so confirm. For which of these universities offer the degree, see BS Space Science universities in Pakistan.
|
Fee head (local students) |
Amount (PKR) |
|---|---|
|
Tuition per semester |
122,399 |
|
Service charges |
8,470 |
|
Safe/smart campus |
2,420 |
|
Total per semester |
133,289 |
|
One-time admission fee |
35,000 |
Other charges listed on IST's page or in a 2026 admission guide:
A guide lists one-time charges of PKR 49,000 in total (admission, endowment and library), which is higher than the 35,000 admission fee alone. Check IST's current notice for the exact heads.
Hostel: PKR 55,000 per semester and a PKR 1,000 locker (per the guide).
Repeat or add a course: PKR 10,000 per credit hour.
After the eighth semester, a continual-enrolment fee applies (PKR 39,900 plus the fee of any registered course).
Application processing fee: PKR 3,000, non-refundable.
International students: US$5,162 per semester and a US$2,000 admission fee.
IST's engineering programmes cost more (PKR 162,424 per semester), so Space Science is about 18% cheaper than those. The IST Islamabad fee page on this site may still show an older figure; use IST's own schedule if they differ.
PU's programme page for the Institute of Space Science lists seats and eligibility but, in the text I could retrieve, no fee figures. Third-party sites disagree (Studyportals alone shows three different annual figures), so ask the Institute or check PU's fee notice for your admission year. PU offers a morning and a replica shift, and replica seats are generally self-supporting, which usually means a higher fee than morning. Confirm which shift you are applying for.
KU publishes fee vouchers for enrolled students rather than a public per-programme table, and I could not find one for the Institute of Space Science and Technology. Eduvision lists PKR 47,500. KU's 2026 circulars add a surcharge for late payment: 5% on the current semester fee in the Spring 2026 circular and 10% in the Fall 2026 circular, plus a PKR 5,000 re-admission fee for students defaulting for more than two semesters. Check the KU admission notice and the KU fee page.
Use this formula, then replace each number with the university's current figure:
Total ≈ (per-semester fee × 8) + one-time charges + (hostel × 8 if you need it)
Worked example for IST using the numbers above:
8 × 133,289 = 1,066,312
Plus one-time admission fee 35,000 = 1,101,312
Plus hostel 8 × 55,000 = 440,000 → 1,541,312
So roughly PKR 1.1 million without hostel and about PKR 1.5 million with it, if fees never changed. They usually do (see below), and taxes can be extra.
If the Eduvision figures for PU and KU are per-semester, eight semesters would be about PKR 311,600 and PKR 380,000. Treat those as rough guesses until the universities confirm.
IST's own figure moved from PKR 110,156 per semester in a 2024 admission listing to PKR 133,289 now, an increase of about 21%. Budget for further rises over four years, and check each semester's voucher.
HEC Need-Based Scholarship: for undergraduates admitted on open merit at participating public universities. Self-finance admissions are not eligible. You apply through your university's financial aid office, not to HEC directly, and a university committee assesses your family's income, dependants, expenses and assets. Income limits and stipends change by cycle; one participating university's page lists a PKR 45,000 monthly income cap and a PKR 6,000 monthly stipend, so confirm the current terms.
PEEF (Punjab Educational Endowment Fund): for students with a Punjab domicile who scored at least 60% in intermediate and whose declared parental income is within the limit (recent university notices say PKR 60,000 per month). It is awarded through partner institutions, so ask whether yours is one.
IST scholarships: IST has offered merit scholarships and points students to need-based schemes. An older IST guide limited merit awards to the top six students in each discipline, so check IST's current financial aid page.
Ehsaas Undergraduate Scholarship: jointly run by HEC and BISP for low-income families. Check whether it is currently open.
Do not rely on a social media post for amounts or deadlines; check the university or HEC.
IST: a 2026 admission guide says the semester fee is paid by the due date with no late-fee option, so plan the money before the deadline.
KU: download the voucher and pay through the bank or app options in the circular; late surcharges apply.
PU: follow the fee notice and challan for your admission year.
Asking for instalments is worth a try, but do not assume they exist.
Open IST's admission page, KU's admission notice or PU's fee notice for your intake year.
Check whether the number is per semester or per year, and whether it includes the one-time admission fee.
Ask the department whether the fee covers labs, exams and hostel, and what the late-payment rule is.
Compare with admission details and merit lists, because a lower fee is no help if you miss the cut-off.
For comparisons with other degrees, see our BS fee structure comparison. For what the degree leads to, see BS Space Science careers.
IST lists PKR 133,289 per semester for local students, plus a PKR 35,000 admission fee, one time. Hostel and other charges are extra.
It depends on the university. At IST, eight semesters at the current rate come to about PKR 1.07 million before one-time charges and hostel. For PU and KU, no official total was found.
Yes. IST lists PKR 133,289 per semester for Space Science and PKR 162,424 for its engineering programmes.
No. A 2026 IST guide lists hostel separately at PKR 55,000 per semester.
Don't count on it. IST's guide says no late-fee option, and PU and KU have not published an instalment scheme for this programme.
Yes. HEC Need-Based Scholarships and PEEF (for Punjab domicile holders) can help, along with IST's own awards. Eligibility depends on income, admission type and your university.
Fees change each year, some sites show old figures, and some list only the first semester. Always check the university's own notice.